40 Weeks = Full Term!

40 Weeks - JPEG

I feel: ready! Come out, come out, wherever you are!

Happy or Moody: Happy at home and irritable at work. My patience with people is running thin… Must be a pregnant woman syndrome?

Showing: Definitely. Feeling as big as a house.

Maternity Clothes: The few maternity clothes I have and maxi dresses & skirts with long tanks. I’m beginning to fill out my maternity clothes a little too much… M better get here soon!

Exercise: Long dog walks. Totally buying into the “Walks can induce labor” wives’ tale… Hey, if they doesn’t then at least I’m exercising, right?

Miss Anything: Ready for cute clothes and bikinis.

Anything make you sick/queasy: No

Movement: Slower and less frequent but still lots of stretching out (as much as she can anyway). I am so curious to see how big (and especially how LONG) she’ll be when she arrives!

Excited for: M’s arrival. Isn’t it obvious?

Favorite Moment of the Week: Another weekend spent pre-baby with Mike.

 

Well, McKenna’s due date has come and gone. She won’t be a Star Wars baby, and, considering there are only 4 1/2 hours left in the day, she won’t be a Cinco de Mayo baby either. I have not had one noticeable contraction yet – including Braxton Hicks contractions – so I am not sure what she’s waiting on. I will have another doctor’s appointment on Wednesday afternoon for a check up to see if my dilation/effacement has progressed since last week. Last week I was 2-3 cm dilated (slightly more than the week prior) and 80% effaced. So something’s happening which is good. It’s just not happening fast enough for my taste. ; )

A few weeks ago I hit the 38 week mark in my pregnancy where every person I spoke to and every thing I read said, “Baby could technically come at any time now! What day will it be?!” So you sit through each day anticipating that moment. Now that I’ve passed the 40 week mark, my brain has done this weird thing where it’s tricked me into thinking I’m never actually going to have a baby. Like, I’ve just been pregnant for the last 10 months for funsies and I’ll just be pregnant forever. Obviously this isn’t the case, but you get so used to being pregnant that when you actually get to the part where you could be a mom/dad any day now – it’s totally weird. Super exciting and really awesome, but so weird to think that, “Oh, I won’t have this belly forever. I can drink alcohol and eat raw fish and dress normally again? Cool.”

So we’ll see when she gets here! Keep sending positive vibes our way. I’ve been told I won’t have to get induced judging by my body’s progression and my anatomy in general, but judging by M’s lack of movement either she’s out to prove us wrong or she’s out to make this a very quick delivery process.

 

40 Weeks = Full Term!

2 thoughts on “40 Weeks = Full Term!

Leave a comment