McKenna’s 1st Month!


DSCF1450
I’m one month old!
Weight:
9.6 lbs.
Height: 21.75″
Eye Color:
Probably blue/gray like Mom’s
I Cry When:
I have  stinky diaper or am hungry. Even that’s not often. I’m a very happy & chill baby!
I Smile When:
I’m passing gas… Which is very often. And loud. The louder the better, I say.
What soothes me the most is: rocking in my rocking chair from Grandpa Dave & Grammy and listening to Aunt Stephanie’s recording of “Here Comes the Sun”
Can’t Leave the House Without: My WubbaNub… Mom needs to buy me another one!

I can’t believe it’s already been one month since McKenna was born. It’s true what they say – time is flying by so quickly!

Within the first week home from the hospital, McKenna perfected her latch (a huge relief to me as she is slightly tongue tied, and it could have affected breastfeeding). I started pumping at the beginning of June, after about 2 1/2 weeks of solid breastfeeding, so that we could begin building up a little supply before I head back to work and also so that Mike could feed her sometimes, too. This growing girl may be taking after her daddy as she sometimes needs to be supplemented even after she’s done nursing. In fact, at just 3 weeks old she downed 6 oz. in one sitting! This isn’t a common occurrence, however we are very thankful we started the freezer supply as early as we did! It’s also thanks to a full belly that McKenna will frequently sleep for 7 consecutive hours – on a bad night (which there are) I’m not as lucky.

In the last month McKenna has had lots of visitors. Our favorite visitor so far (for obvious reasons) is her Aunt (and Godmother) Stephanie, who we are lucky enough to have in town for the summer while she works with St. Pete Opera on West Side Story. Stephanie and I normally get to see each other once a year, maybe twice if we’re lucky, so we are beyond blessed with the timing of this gig so that she can spend time with us and her new niece!

IMG_4305

Rigby has adjusted to life with McKenna nicely – no real surprise here as he always has been such a love. He still gets very excited when guests come over as I think he sometimes forgets they’re most likely here to see the baby, not him. You can most often find Rigby lying on the couch with us during nap time or at the floor of McKenna’s Pack-N-Play while I’m trying to get work done. The only thing we really have to worry about is him licking her head or face after Lord knows where his tongue just was. McKenna doesn’t seem to mind one bit, but I am not a fan.

IMG_4435

Mike and I are beyond happy about parenthood, and we’ve both settled into it pretty naturally, in my opinion. It is pretty funny to see our parenting differences coming out already. If they continue to progress as they are, they’ll compliment each other nicely, and it will also prove to be pretty entertaining. We are enjoying our time together while I am still off work (5 more weeks) and have lots planned for Miss M!

McKenna’s 1st Month!

One thought on “McKenna’s 1st Month!

Leave a comment