The Big Surprise

I can honestly say I never thought I’d be telling this story… Or at least writing this blog at 22-years old, less than 2 years out of college, unmarried, etc. etc. But here I am and nearly 9 weeks out from our “discovery,” I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Normally people dread any and every Friday the 13th. “If something bad is going to happen, it will,” they say. “Murphy’s Law,” they say. I’ve personally never thought anything of them. But of course, on Thursday, Sept. 12, I had to have a dream that I was pregnant. By the time I had laughed over my dream with a coworker the next day at work, paranoia was setting in and I decided it would be best if I took a “I know I’m not pregnant, but just in case” pregnancy test. Now, if any of my female readers have ever taken one, you know that the box always tells you to give the test a full 3 minutes. Well… that little stick knew I was pregnant within 30 seconds. And four different pregnancy tests later, and after I had left work from shear panic, I was still pregnant.

I think the hardest part about this whole discovery was not having Mike by me. He was at work, in the middle of a 24-hour shift in Polk County, and I couldn’t bear to call him while I was worried and stressed and crying. So I waited until the next day to tell him. Although our relationship was what I would consider “serious” at the time (L-word dropped and the whole nine yards), we still hadn’t been together long, and I was nervous as all get out to tell him. I could barely get the words out through all my sobs. But once I did he hugged me and even laughed at me a little – LAUGHED! He was so excited.

Xmas Photo 2013

It’s all been downhill from there. Some excitement, some tears, some nervousness when it came to telling my parents and relatives. Michael has been nothing but supportive and encouraging, and his excitement makes me so calm and so ready for this journey together. Nothing confirms that excitement more than when we first heard baby’s heartbeat.

To some, this is a “whoops” in life. But to us, this is the best whoops ever.

Baby Friedmann will be arriving in May 2014.

Blog inspired by A Bit of Pop and my friend and former coworker’s lovely, honest pregnancy blog Yes, Opposites Really Attract!

The Big Surprise

One thought on “The Big Surprise

Leave a comment